Job interview gone wrong but never happened

About a week and a half ago, I applied for a job position with a company called Visionworks.  They are a company that sell eye-wear.  Not my first time applying there, but my first time applying for a retail position.  Wasn’t really expecting a response because I thought I have no background when it comes to eye-wear except my personal experience of buying glasses.  Four days later, I got a phone for an interview at one of their retail stores.  I was schedule to interview within a week of that phone call, which was Thursday March 16, 2017.  I called the day before just to make sure I was schedule and all that good stuff.  Didn’t want to show up and then be told I was never schedule or there be a miscommunication.

So that day came for my job interview. Decided to wear different color dress shirt because I usually prefer my blue dress shirt.  Since most of my previous job interviews resulted with no positive outcome, I thought it was time to change it up a little.  I arrived at the place 10 to 15 minutes early and told the employee I was there for an interview at 11am.  All the employees were busy with clients, but they said, “just take a sit and I someone will be with you shortly.”  So I sat and patiently waited. Awhile I waited to be called for my interview, I observed what was going on.  People were coming in and out, getting their glasses and looking for new frame.  Another employee walks in and within a few minutes she introduce her self as the assist manager and says she will be conducting the interview after she done with this client. Great! right? Well from my previous conversation with the employee who setup my interview, mentioned that I was interviewing with a guy name Bert. In my mind I figure something wasn’t right. A couple of minutes have passed and she finished with assisting a client.  Now I was ready to get this interview started, but she decided to turn her attention to the next client.  I said to my self, I give it a few more minutes.  I look at my phone and I’ve been waiting for 45 minutes.  I said to myself, “this isn’t right.”  Waiting 45 minutes to have an interview. I walked up to the desk where the assist manager who said she will be doing the interview and said, “I’ve been waiting here 45 minutes for my interview, what the hold up?”  With an attitude she said, “the person who was supposed to do the interview had a emergency.”  My response and reaction now you are telling me this.  She replied, “stuff happen and it out of my control and I just got here.”  I understand that, but shouldn’t you tell the person who waiting that there a delay.  If you know this person has an emergency, maybe suggest that we reschedule, not knowing when this person will show or not show at all. I could have been the for an hour and they not mention one word about this.

Talk about not being professional and tell someone who has taken the time to come here because they want this job and not tell them there going to be a delay.  It would have only taken a minute for her or any of the employees who knew about this to walk up to me and just say something.  Well I went head and left, deciding I will not reschedule, but to call their corporate headquarters and tell them about this unprofessional circumstance.  I was able to speak with someone and told them what happen.  Don’t know if they will take any action even though they said they will.

One thought on “Job interview gone wrong but never happened

  1. I am so sorry to hear that, Mikey. I agree that it is not professional at all. A good workplace is one where they take pride in hiring staff and showing an interest in their staff. What you experienced, it certainly doesn’t make the store look good. When I interviewed for mg current job, my employers were already waiting for me, and I was 10-15 minutes early. It was a surprise go me, but I suppose they wanted to present a good impression and take their staff seriously.

    Like

Leave a Reply

