Discovery Challenge: Flaneur

Flâneur

I would consider myself an observer. No matter where am at, if am alone or with people am always observing everything that around me.

Walking the street of downtown San Antonio, Texas, I blend into the 23449503249_004221f738_b many tourist who roam the street like zombies. Slowly walking, looking lost, some with their eyes on their cell phone, others with their eye wandering around with their hands on their camera. I myself also carrying a camera, but not acting so zombie like, observing my surrounding, looking for that right photographic shot.

99060018My ears and eyes observing as people pass me by running along the riverwalk. Listening to the ducks quaking, listening for the sound of foot steps pounding on the pavement as people walk and run coming from behind me.  My eyes taking notice what people are doing, what they are wearing, whats going on around town that attracts the tourist.  Some stopping to take a selfie, families stopping by to get an ice cone from the small vendors station through out town.

99010018Sometime there will be moments where I talk with a tourist or someone local about what going on around town, or asking for direction.  Other time I’ll get stop and get ask about my camera.  Most time I will stop to take a break from walking and drink water from the water bottle I carry with me.

After a couple of hours walking, I decide it time to return to being a local and catch my bus ride back home. As I wait, I continue observing every walk of life passing by. Listening to the few words the echo my way.  Finally my bus arrive

Leave a Reply

