Discovery Challenge: Outer Layers

Outer Layers

Sometime I wonder what message does my outer layers reflect when people see me and interact with me.  Is it positive or negative, is it attractive or unattractive? Would they say I have to change my outer layer or don’t change? Maybe it something else.

As of now my layer style is simple. Why simple? It not easy shopping for us big guys. Many department stores carry a small selection of clothes for big and tall guys. Also since am unemployed, I really don’t have money to go out and do the things I wish I could do.  So in the mean time I dress up in shorts and a college shirt. Yeah, I know, not and the best attire to wear.  I like to think of these as my work out clothes.  They are simple, nothing fancy, or expensive. Clothes that you see me wear when am taking my walks, working out at the gym or do daily errands. Maybe the “simple” is not great because it show my phsyical apperance.  Just this week I was told by a lady who I see at the gym frequently that I lost weight.  She congrated me on my hard work, which surprised me.  Surprised, that when I look in the mirror, I don’t see any result. Her positive comment, made my day a little bit brighter.

Within my small closet lays my other attire.  Solid color shirts, along with blue jeans for when I have to go to my temporary job or when I know that shorts and a faded college shirt won’t cut it. Along with these shirts are my attire to dress to impress.  I don’t wear these often enough with the exception for the very few job interviews I’ve had.

Beside my layers of clothes, what does my physical and personality layer reflect. Do they contribate more to what people see or is it my clothes layer.  Maybe a combination of both, but that for another post entry.

Leave a Reply

