Raison d’être

Raison D’être

What motivates me to let out my creative side.  Well after months and years of searching for full-time employment and not having any success, it was 20160508_185333time that I give my mind a distraction.  A outlet to let it wonder and express whatever I may be feeling, experiencing, or just to do something to pass the time.

I photograph, draw, write, watercolor, and blog.  Some of these I’ve done for awhile and others, I recently just started to learn about them. Do I prefer one over another? No, I just do whatever I feel like doing at the moment.  I photograph when I take my morning and afternoon walks. During this time when am walking am not only clearing my mind, but also just being clam and aware what going on around me. Watching people go about their business, feeling the sun and wind hit my skin.  If I see something that interesting to me, I’ll take a photograph.  There are time when I can’t carry my camera with me such as going to my temporary job or maybe the weather just make it too ugly to go outside.  In that case I can draw, write, or blog in the comfortable of my home.  Writing and blogging help me not only to work on my writing and communication skills, but help me reflect on what going on in my life.  It also a way to channel that stress and/or conflict inside me and trap it on paper using words.  When I draw, watercolor or anything that involves art, it bring out that little kid that still inside of me.  Forgetting whatever may be running in my head and just using that creative instinct.

The positive side of creating whether it be art, photography, writing, dancing is that every time you create you see the progression of improvement in what you create.  For me, that not only the improvement in your skill, but in yourself to be a better individual. Aren’t we all trying to better ourselves?

 

**Raison d’être is a French term, meaning “the reason or justification for existence.”

Leave a Reply

