Friends/friendship

This is something that been in my head and resurface from facebook Happy Friend Day. Before I continue does the word friend/friendship change in mean and importance as you get order? These is somethings that I’ve been thinking about. Facebook a social network that allows us to stay connected with friends, family, co-workers, etc. For the past year or so I’ve been de-friended people not because of political views or lack of interest, but the lack of mutual interest as friends. i’ve have drop my facebook friend count from 365 to 123.  The majority of those facebook friends I have no verbal communication with, not even a “Hello!” It is not their fault nor mine, just there no friendship there.  I will still respect each individual if we ever cross path again in the cyber world or in the real world.

One thing that really bugs me are those individuals who contact you when they haven’t contacted you in years, only to pitch you an idea or a sale they would like you to consider.  This has happen to me twice where friends from facebook who never contact you suddenly want to talk to you about a idea they want you to hear. These ideas or sales only make me feel that am only worth contacting when these friends need something.  In this case these friends want to me to join their sales idea. It one of those network sales group which I think are just scams to get your money. What that saying if it sound to good to be true it probably is.

Just venting here a little.  Thanks reading:)

5 thoughts on “Friends/friendship

  1. Keeping friends is not always easy. Although, I do hear from some old friends from time to time and catching up is always fun. but, I know what you mean about being contacted for sales and networks and what not.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Why delete the people who have not done this? There is no way I can have manful interaction with all the people on my Facebook. But at some point in my life each one of them was important to me. Some have become acquaintances, but that is no reason to delete them. Maybe 10 are good friends. What’s wrong with keeping the line open?

    Like

    1. I understand your question and the line is always open, but the last 7 years that line has not been used. So I kind of feel, do I really know these people because people do change. the majority of these people don’t live in the same city as I do. As I’ve said in my post I will always respect each individual if we ever cross path in the future. I’ve come to realize that I rather just have 100 or 125 friends that have some min. interaction then have 400 people who I don’t have any interaction at all for the past 7 years. I would like that my facebook be a true representation of myself and not that he has 500 or 1000 friends. He must be well like.

      Like

Leave a Reply

