Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks

Naked with Black Socks

Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?

If you ever met me in person, probably the first impression you would get that am a reserved person, somewhat shy being around people and for sure wouldn’t be the one you would see doing public speaking.  Well am always filled with surprises and awhile public speaking is always a nervous nail-biting sweating palms moment, I’ve learned just to deal with it.

Of course I would rather be somewhere else, but when it comes to public speaking I always images myself in a dance club, dancing. When you are at dance club and dancing, you ignore the other people who aren’t dancing and may be watching you. I’ve tried this many time and it works for me.  O yes I enjoy dancing especially salsa and have no trouble dancing in front of people in public place.  I’ve also done a dance performance in front of a large audience to.

“One you master the art of facing a room full of teenagers, and come out alive, you can do anything.”

If you think public speaking is tough, you might want to re-think that.  Speaking in front of a room of teenagers, that 6th, 7th, and 8th grades is a challenge.  I know because I was a substitute teacher for two years. So if you are one who afraid of public speaking, speaking in front of teenagers is much worst. Teenagers who are watching you like a hawk, judging you not by how you speak, but your appearance and any other flaw they see.

My advice to you if you are afraid of public speaking and no matter whether you will do it in your professional career or personally take a class that deals with public speaking.  I did and took several classes where I had to do class presentation. It will challenge you and get comfortable speaking in front of people.  The only way to over come your fear is by confronting it and engaging in it.

 

 

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks

Leave a Reply

