Writing 101, Poetry: Sleep

Awhile I sleep, my dog sleep too.

the world continues on.

good morning! good afternoon!

I sleep on and dream.

Souls greeted in heaven.

Egg and sperm meet, conception.

life continues on.

The hunter, the great bear revolve above me.

The sun and moon chasing each other across the sky.

I sleep and the world continues on.

earthquake rumbles, volcanoes erupting, thunder roaring, rain beating

mother nature throwing a fuss.

I sleep and dream,

My dog sleep and dream, but the world continues on.

Good night! Good night!

 

Sleep: a world where our thoughts rule.

A place where reality is overshadowed by dreams.

A time when we transport our soul from the real world to the virtual.

For some, the hours we spend asleep, alone and in peace, are the best of the entire day; for others, whether haunted by nightmares or unable to fall asleep in the first place, not so much.

It’s time to think deeply about sleep. Dive into the pool of night and let whatever it is you find there take poetic form. (I hope this prompt doesn’t make an insomniac out of you!)

One thought on “Writing 101, Poetry: Sleep

Leave a Reply

