we are all photographers and models

This post should probably go on my other blog, my photoblog, but I thought I post it here.  We are a society of photographer, just about everyone own a camera, whether it be their iPhone, ipad, DSLR, SLR, video camera, or their GoPro camera.  Did I miss anything?  This past weekend I was taking my weekend walk and always carry a camera with me.  If you are new to my site, I still shoot with film.  So am trying to break my shell and do more street photography, but with street photography requires courage of taking photographs of random people.  Strangers that you don’t know or know how they will response if you took their photo without asking them.

During my walk I was at a certain area of town where they have music and small stores for all the tourist that stop by.  On that day there really wasn’t much going on except for the hot weather and a old lady dancing to some Spanish music.  This lady had her outfit on and just dancing to what ever the dj was playing. Also she had a cut out plastic bottle where people can leave her a tip.  I give that old lady credit because people where leaving her a tips.  People passing by were amused by the way she dancing and everyone pulled out their iPhone and took video and pictures of the lady doing her dancing gig.  Just observing what was going on, made think about how people would hate if they were being photograph, but here they are photographing someone. No matter where you go in the world, if someone look or is acting wiered, funny, or just something out of the norm, people will pull out their cameras.

As I was thinking about this, then I wonder how many of these people will post their video and photo on the internet of this lady doing her dancing gig.  I though about this a little further and wonder since we are all photographers, how many of them know that somewhere on the net, there a photograph(s) of them?  Am not talking about the picture you post on facebook or intagram.  Am talking about photograph that other people post on flicker, their personal site or other photo sharing site. No matter where we go on this world, we are always being photograph by someone and those photo end up on the web.  Do people ever think about that somewhere on the net there a photo of you?  It might be a photo of you laying down at the beach, walking down the street of some city or a some festival/event.

Leave a Reply

