Daily Prompt: Middle Seat

Middle Seat

It turns out that your neighbor on the plane/bus/train (or the person sitting at the next table at the coffee shop) is a very, very chatty tourist. Do you try to switch seats, go for a non-committal brief small talk, or make this person your new best friend?

Well first I got admit I’ve never been on a train or plane, so I never had to deal with the chatty, loud annoy, shut the hell up person that can force someone to jump of a plane or train.  I do ride the bus often and every now and then ran into someone who is not a tourist who is very talkative and or just homeless and crazy. During my college years I rode the bus a lot since I didn’t have a car.  One night on the bus there was a homeless in front of me who just all of a sudden just started talking about how he meant an angle from heaven.  How this angle watch over him a cold night when he was sleeping behind a empty building.  Well for me I couldn’t get up and find another sit, so I just sat there and did my best to look uninterested.  That homeless man still keep on talking until he got off at his stop. For me, I didn’t want to say anything since I didn’t know if he was mentally stable and would do something crazy.

Riding the bus and just be an observer is always interesting because people will always trying to find the seat that is empty and the farthest away from people.  It get more interest when there attractive females that get on the bus.  Last thing that girl wants is to sit or position herself in a bus sit that a guy can sit next to her.  It always funny to watch that happen.  For me I will usually sit in the back, but not afraid to sit in the front either.  It just another way to avoid the hassle of having to give up your sit to a elderly or disable person.  From experience I can tell you those elderly people can gossip non-stop when they are on the bus, but it the gossip that is funny.

Leave a Reply

