Daily Prompt: Only Sixteen

Only Sixteen

Tell us all about the person you were when you were sixteen. If you haven’t yet hit sixteen, tell us about the person you want to be at sixteen.

Wow! a blast from the past. Doesn’t seem that long ago when I was 16, but when you count the years, its been a long time.  When I was 16, I  was a freshman in high school.  I was the quite, smart, calm sixteen year old teenager.  I wasn’t one of those popular students that people wanted to hang out, but people did know who I was.  Most people didn’t call me by my first name, but by the nickname one of the coaches gave me, bigmike.  The name stuck with me throughout my 4 years in high school.

The person that I was when I was sixteen and the person I am today somewhat similar, but that person has grown and branch out.  When I was sixteen I didn’t like dressing up.  I usually prefer jeans, a shirt, and tennis shoes,but today I comfortable dressing up and I like to dress to impress.  Since I wasn’t into dressing up I really didn’t go to any high school dance. Why? I didn’t know how to dance nor was I interested in the free style dancing that teenagers did.  Beside I really didn’t have any interest in the music most kids listened to.  Today I don’t mind dancing if they play civilize music that you can dance to and not afraid or shy asking a girl to dance.   Couldn’t do that when I was sixteen.

Leave a Reply

