Writing 101: The Things We Treasure

What are some of my most prized possession?  I would say that I have two things that are most important to me.  One of those thing is a collection of several different things.  When I was about 8 years old, give or take a year or two, I started collecting basketball cards.  At that time I was also learning how to play basketball.  I don’t know if kids today collect basketball cards, but I remember always go to the small neighborhood stores and buying a pack of basketball cards.  On the weekends, my mom would take me to the flea market where the had booths of vendors selling basketball, football, baseball cards, plus other sport memorabilia. A lot of card that I collected, I place them in protective card covers and put them in blinders awhile all the extras I place in boxes that are design to hold sports cards.  With time I’ve loss several of those blinder because of a family member, but still have a lot of the extra cards that I put in those boxes.  Now I keep those extra, along with some special items close to me, where I can see if they been disturbed.

My other prize possession is my Nikon FM10 camera that I brought awhile in high school. I saved all my money that I made during the summer.  This camera is a film camera and it was my first real camera.   It is the camera that I learned about photography, used during my college days to take pictures, and still use it today.  When I was in college they offer a photo journalism class that required you to have a manual film camera. It was a class the enjoyed and learned how to use my camera.  Throughout my college days, I used this camera to take pictures of events that I attended.  I’ve had that camera for about 19 years and only had to have it repaired once.  I hope one day that I can pass this camera along to one of my future children.  I just hope that film photography is still alive for another 20 or 30 years.

Day Twenty: The Things We Treasure

Today’s Prompt: Tell us the story of your most-prized possession.

It’s the final day of the challenge already?! Let’s make sure we end it with a bang — or, in our case, with some furious collective tapping on our keyboards. For this final assignment, lead us through the history of an object that bears a special meaning to you.

A family heirloom, a flea market find, a childhood memento — all are fair game. What matters is that, through your writing, you breathe life into that object, moving your readers enough to understand its value.

Today’s twist: We extolled the virtues of brevity back on day five, but now, let’s jump to the other side of the spectrum and turn to longform writing. Let’s celebrate the drawn-out, slowly cooked, wide-shot narrative.

One thought on “Writing 101: The Things We Treasure

Leave a Reply

