Writing 101: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

Well can’t believe Writing 101 is coming to a close.  I can say that writing 101 has been a challenge for me.  Writing has never been one of my strong suit and I know it something I really need to improve in. It been great reading other blogger’s post and meeting them.  Hopefully I’ll see some of you in other blogging events or our post will cross each other path one day.
At the moment my mind is going in all direction, so I really don’t have one thing to focus on.  Lately been paying attention to what going go in Baltimore with all the riots and lootings.  I won’t comment to much about the issues, but I believe that if there ever going to be change, it has to happen on both sides.  The police/government and the people, that includes African American, Hispanics, White, Asian, Indian, etc.  One side shouldn’t have to pull all the load and make changes awhile the side just sit there and does nothing.  They have to meet each other mid-way and it shouldn’t stop there. The black community and the people need to start taking steps to change their community and their own personal life.  In this world they are not the only ones that have it tough and are at a disadvantage. Take a look at people in other countries who have it much worst. They don’t have the thing that we have here in the United State, but they do what in their power to make a better life for themselves and their children.  I’ll stop there about this issue,but willing to talk about it some more in a calm and civilize conversation.
Since my attention has been focus on this blog and writing 101, I need to start putting some more attention on my photo blog and other hobbies I started. I really trying to finish reading my first book, “The Book Thief” and keeping practicing on my drawing skills. I’ve written a post or two about them hobbies.

 

Day Nineteen: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

Today is a free writing day. Write at least four-hundred words, and once you start typing, don’t stop. No self-editing, no trash-talking, and no second guessing: just go. Bonus points if you tackle an idea you’ve been playing with but think is too silly to post about.

I want you to let it all hang out. So does writer Anne Lamott. At the risk of turning Writing 101 into an Anne Lamott fan club, no one motivates me the way she does. Every time you sit down to write and think your idea is too stupid, too uninteresting, too random, or too unoriginal to be committed to the page, let Anne give you a gentle but firm nudge:

The rational mind doesn’t nourish you. You assume that it gives you the truth, because the rational mind is the golden calf that this culture worships, but this is not true. Rationality squeezes out much that is rich and juicy and fascinating.

Don’t look at your feet to see if you are doing it right. Just dance.

Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor, the enemy of the people.

I don’t think you have time to waste not writing because you are afraid you won’t be good at it.

You’ll never feel so good about writing down every half-baked non-sequitur that comes out of the recesses of your lizard brain. And if you’re tempted to reply, “That’s easy for her to say, she’s a famous writer!” I give you:

I know some very great writers, writers you love who write beautifully and have made a great deal of money, and not one of them sits down routinely feeling wildly enthusiastic and confident. Not one of them writes elegant first drafts. All right, one of them does, but we do not like her very much.

Four-hundred words. One at a time. Go.

One thought on “Writing 101: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

  1. A lot of people, including myself, have been paying attention to what has been happening in Baltimore with the riots. As for The Book Thief, I really enjoyed reading that book. I look forward to what you have to say about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

