Writing 101: To whom it may concern

Dear Attitude,attitude

One time, I was told by two people, both female, who were my supervisors that I work for awhile in college, that I gave them attitude. The negative kind of attitude.  They told me, you would show up when they would assign me something to do.  Hearing this was kind of shocking since am a down to earth type of person.  It was my first time someone telling something negative about my attitude.  My rule is I don’t give attitude, unless I am being mistreated and/or not being respected as a person.  Maybe they mistaken you for my personality.  The definition for personality and attitude, that you, are:

Personality refers to individual differences in characteristic patterns of thinking, feeling and behaving. The study of personality focuses on two broad areas: One is understanding individual differences in particular personality characteristics, such as sociability or irritability.

Attitude(noun) a settled way of thinking or feeling about someone or something, typically one that is reflected in a person’s behavior.   A position of the body proper to or implying an action or mental state.

Today, as I continue my quest to find a full-time job, to begin living my life and accomplishing my goals, do I have an issue with you “Attitude” or a conflicting problem between you and personality.  Are you two the reason why I can’t find a full-time job.  Tell me Mr. Attitude and Personality, do one or both you show up when am in an interview, that I give off a negative impression.  This negative impression radiates as a facial expression or a certain tone in my voice.

Do I need to change my attitude and personality to move on in my life? Great question!  I’ve always had a positive attitude about things I do and as for my personality, still trying to learn and understand that aspect of myself.  Its difficult to know what needs to be adjusted if at all any, when you are trying to find your own flaws. How do you know if it your attitude and/or personality since they seem to be intertwined.  I will admit that sometime I do fear certain things like trying something new or giving a negative impression about something new that I haven’t done before.  But isn’t that a normal thing?  To fear something you never done before, isn’t that just human nature or is it a attitude/personality issue.

Mambo Peligroso by Patricia Chao.  Page 26, the first word to stand out, “Attitude”.

 

 

Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Today’s Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there.

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

You have a number of options: you can write a letter to the word or an image, or an open letter to the world inspired by the word. You could pen a series of imaginary notes between you and a friend, or between two fictional characters, or between old you and young you.

Leave a Reply

