Writing 101: Serially Found

PART 2. Serially Lost

Those first 2 or 6 months of not having a sip or a drink of soda was the toughest. It is within this time frame that you have to the find the “will” inside of you to resist the “want”. To not only deny the voice in your head saying, “just one sip of soda”, or “just one can of Dr.Pepper for old-time sake”, but to mentally block it from when you see it all around you.

Beside dealing with the challenges of giving up soda, I enjoy some of the benefits. My knees began to feel different. I longer felt those aches in my knees, so I began running again. I no longer felt that annoying feeling in my legs when laying down, the feeling to get up. I would describe this feeling as restless leg syndrome. During my college year I would have an ant crawling, biting feeling on my legs when laying down. This feeling would send signals to my brain that my legs wanted to get up and walk.

Now that I’ve been soda free for about 4 years, I’ve still yet to conquer trimming down my weight. I don’t consider myself an over, over, weight person, but I am a big guy. I do visit the local gym daily and love doing cardio, plus adding some strength training in there. Losing weight has been my next goal, but like all goals, there are obstacle to over come.  Some of these obstacle are what food should I eat and what foods should I stay away from.  Is my workout routine good enough or to easy? For me it all trail and error until I find the right combination where the pound begin to shed off.

 

Day Thirteen: Serially Found

On day four, you wrote a post about losing something. Today’s Prompt: write about finding something.

Tell us about the time you retrieved your favorite t-shirt from your ex. Or when you accidentally stumbled upon your fifth-grade journal in your parents’ attic. Or how about the moment you found out the truth about a person whose history or real nature you thought you’d figured out. Interpret this theme of “finding something” however you see fit.

Today’s twist: if you wrote day four’s post as the first in a series, use this one as the second installment — loosely defined.

You could pick up the action where you stopped, or jump backward or forward in time. You might write about the same topic, but use a different style, or use the same style to tackle a neighboring topic.

Not sure how to approach continuity? Here’s a time-tested tip: pick a favorite book or two. Read the last page of chapter one, then the first page of chapter two. How did the author choose to connect these two separate-but-connected narrative units?

We’d like to stress, though, that the idea behind today’s assignment isn’t necessarily to write “chapter two” of a neat, predetermined sequence — though you could do that, too, of course — but to think more intently about the idea of continuity and designing long-term writing projects.

One thought on “Writing 101: Serially Found

Leave a Reply

