Writing 101: Serially Lost

Day Four: Serially Lost

Today’s Prompt: Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

I wouldn’t know if this is consider a loss, but it was something that was part of my life since I was kid.  Today it is part of many adults and kids life today, with the exception that there are more of a awareness of how bad it can be for your health and body.  Soda! just like kids today we get addicted to drinking soda at a young age, but really never understand or aware of the harm it can have your health and body.  With the exception that we are told it bad for you teeth and the so many visits to the dentist because of cavities cause by the sugar we consume and lack of not being educated on how to take care of your teeth.

Soda was a big part of my life growing up.  As a kid, I was always drinking it because it was widely available at my house or a relative house.  When I got into high school, it was available there, so I always had spare change to buy a Dr.Pepper during lunch time and after school.  At that time there really wasn’t a movement to remove soft drink from school campuses.  Am not sure how it is today, but I’ve heard that school wanting or have removed soft drinks machine from their campus.  In college I was probably having maybe 6 cans of soda a day, maybe more.  There I started noticing that my knee would aches from time to time.  In my mind I thought it was just the running I was doing because I do enjoy running.  It wasn’t until I moved back home that I decided to lose the soda habit.  I just figure it was time to lose this bad habit.

I had tried several attempts to lose the soda habit even awhile in college, but it was hard.  So I tried to reduce the amount of soda I was drinking and then one day, probably a week before Thanksgiving, I said to myself, “alright, no more soda, it time to stop.”  It was hard since there were family members in the house who also drink soda, but slowing each day I learned to fight off the “want” to have a cup or can of soda.

*I am going to challenge myself in the making this a 3 post series.*

 

2 thoughts on “Writing 101: Serially Lost

Leave a Reply

