Keep at it

untitledWith any new hobby or project, you got to keep at it in order to get better.  You can’t give up to frustrations, outside influences, or that it just takes time to get better.  I just started my goal in attempting to start reading and this past weekend I went to half price bookstore to look for a book to start my book reading journey.  I had already decided to buy one book until I was waiting in line to pay, I saw this one book on the shelve nearby called, “The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak.  I just finished the first chapter, and all I can say is am hook on it.  I name this post keep at it because in the book the little girl Liesel is so determined to learn how to read that her Papa is teaching her even though he a slow reader himself.  When she isn’t called up to read in front of the class, her friend tells the teacher, a nun that Liesel hasn’t had her turn.  When she has the opportunity to show that she not just some stupid girl, she could read a passage out of any random book. In the process of reading a passage and all eyes on her, she got nervous and began to recite a passage out the book The Grave Digger’s Handbook that she memorized from her papa voice. Realizing that she just failed at the opportunity to show that she a smart girl, leads to embarrassment and shame.

Still don’t know what happens after that, but just reading that part, no matter how much we fail we got to keep at it.  I hope Liesel still keep at it and is able to read a random passage from a book.  From my personal experience I encounter a lot of moments where I had to just keep at it in order to get better.  I remember when I first started to learning how to dance and being able to lead a girl properly was just frustrating, because you would see all the good dancer and think you never get to their level.  After many years of practicing and taking some one on one lessons, am more confident in my dancing ability.  Other things that I just had to keep it at was learning how to swim, getting through all those math courses in college, today am re-learning how to draw and everyday I see small improvements.

Keep at it does not only apply to hobbies or small projects that we may start, but in life in general.  No matter how to difficult life is to us, we got to keep at it and work at it to make our life better. It might take some time, but you’ll get there.

 

2 thoughts on “Keep at it

  1. This is a great post. The idea of the father who is a poor reader helping his daughter to learn to read is very motivational. And I know that in my own life those things that have not come easily but that I have really had to work at are what give me the greatest sense of accomplishment.

    Like

  2. I would definitely encourage you to keep reading, especially this book. It was actually the book that changed my perspective on the world. And thank you for the inspiration, sometimes it is so hard to step out of your comfort zone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

