Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight

Fight or Flight

Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding, belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

I had to think about this for awhile because I had to ask myself what is a heart-pounding, belly-twisting nervousness.  To me this would be like being in the cock-pit of a fighter jet and trying not get shot down by the boggy that on your six. That if I was a jet pilot.

So my strongest memory would be during my sixth grade year of elementary school where I had to do a presentation in front of the whole school for a very special guest who was visiting our school.  Not only was he the only guest there, other parents, and of course the local media.  Being a kid and having to the speak not only in front of the entire school, but your closes peers was the most heart-pounding, belly-twisting nervousness experience.  Why?  Well if you miss up or something terrible happens like you trip over your feet awhile walking to the microphone, that it! You will be what everyone will be talking about at school and how you trip and fell down. Oh, and having to use a microphone that make your voice sound like mickey mouse and having to hear yourself.  It like the echo sound you get on your cell phone when you can hear your own voice.  Have you ever had that problem?

Now, I would have decided not to have to speak in front of the entire school, but because I did something and this special guest was responding to what I did, it was me that had to do this presentation.  So, I did this presentation because I really didn’t have a choice, but did have a paper with me that I could read off of and not have memorize or come up with something to say. Today, I think that experience has help me out in life, in that I am not so scared in having to speak in front of a large audience.  I have learned how to calm my nerves, by remember this phrase: “Dance like no one is watching.”  So when am ready to speak in front of people, I try to think that I am in a Latin club and dancing. There are other things I do, but have found out that this has help me out the most when in comes to public speaking.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight

Leave a Reply

