Analog technology

I was just browsing through the daily prompts and saw that there was a prompt called pen and pencils. This is what the prompt says,

When was the last time you wrote something substantive — a letter, a story, a journal entry, etc. — by hand? Could you ever imagine returning to a pre-keyboard era?

 

So I thought how about writing about Analog technologies.  When was the last time you used a analog technology. typewriter, cassette / record player, VCR, film camera/ disposable camera, a analog clock/watch, maybe a land line phone. Could you ever imagine having to use those technology again instead of technologies that use one and zeros?

For me personally, I still use analog technologies in my photography.  I used a Nikon FM10 and a Canon AE-1 camera which both are 35mm film cameras. Unlike digital cameras where you can see your photos right after you take them and delete them, with film you can’t.  You will have to take the film to a photo lab where they will develop your film and print out your photo or put them on a CD.ad7d3e170deb10d779355d339d428a19  Here at home I see have a few analog technologies that I don’t use, but kept just in case.  I still have my little tape recorder that I use in college to record my professor’s lectures and I also have a old type writer.  To my belief they still sale the typewriter ribbon.

 

When I look at the world we live in I believe that one day we will have to fall back to a lot of the old technologies that we longer use today or longer exist today.  What would cause us to have to fall back to using analog technology?  Maybe one day earth’s orbit will be in path where it gets hit with a EMP, a electromagnetic pulse from space, destroying all electronic equipment.  Of course a EMP can be natural or man made. Just wanted to ask you all a question, do they I still teach kids these days on how to read a analog clock.  You know, those clocks with a hour and minute hand.  I remember awhile substitute for teacher, a student told me that he didn’t know how to tell time with those clocks. They have to take out and refer to their phones to know what time it is.

Leave a Reply

